You’re at Peace but I’m in Pieces.

May 13, 2017. Almost a year ago now. I walk in to work, a lot earlier than most people do. I worked with the elder population at the time and got to spend oodles of time with my own grandmother. My focus that morning was getting my report for my unit and going to see her while she rested. Something told me to hold off on report and go lay eyes on her. I relieved myself from the night nurse and walked down to her room. I walked in her bedroom door at 0600 and watched her last breath at 0620. I pulled my stethoscope out and listened. That heart, oh how I wish everyone had her heart of gold, the heart that mended other broken hearts, a resilient and huge heart. No beating. I paused for a minute and listened again. The heart that held mine, the soft and kind warm caring heart. A heart so big God couldn’t let it live. She was gone. I collapsed. I called my own grandmas time of death. I made those phone calls. Family started to arrive. I held my dad as he cried. I’ve never seen him cry before. That heavenly heart. That woman that made everyone feel special and welcome. The one who nurtured and raised 5 children, gone forever. You’re with the husband you lost three years ago. Two of my favorite people, the ones I loved the most. You’re at peace but I’m in pieces.

May 3, 2018. My cousin and the only piece of my Aunt (committed suicide) that was left, died from complications of a collapsed lung. 32 year old man who’d been handicapped from a car accident most of his life. We love you. You’re finally at peace but we’re in pieces.

Leave a comment