Noah & Alley. 

So I finally got some time to visit my Grandma today in her current residence. She had a fall and is residing in a rehabilitation center. It was just the two of us and our talks together are the best. Today’s topic of conversation was love. She told me the story I never get tired of hearing. She met my grandpa when she was 18. He was five years older and she thought he was way too old for her. She spoke of her resistance to his attempts at courting her. When she finally caved that man would walk miles in the blistering cold two foot snow banks just to see her. He put in so much effort to gain the love and respect of my grandma. He asked for her hand in marriage. He was Protestant and she was catholic. She said that she left that up to him. Her priest was against the marriage but that didn’t stop my grandpa. He became a catholic. He changed his beliefs and faith for the woman he loved and admired. That man took care of business and took care of his family. I love when Grandma talks about him. Her wrinkled face just lights up and those baby blues just sparkle. I don’t want a love story like Noah and Alley (The Notebook) I want one like Grandma and Grandpa. 

Leave a comment